Marquette artists and their muses

Additional reporting by Natalie Wickman and Dewayne Gage.
Screen Shot 2016-03-08 at 10.02.12 AM
Photo by Natalie Wickman.
“Do not think words are just these pointless things that flutter out of your mouth
when you want something”
Alessandria Rhines
Alessandria Rhines’ interest in poetry started in middle school when she wrote small stories and poems in journals. This extended throughout her high school years when she started performing her work in front of family. Fast forward to 2016 and she is coming off a visit to New York City where she represented her hometown Minneapolis in the Women of the World Poetry Slam.
Topics of Rhines’ work includes boys (“unfortunately they get a good chunk of my poetry,”) family, friends and her perceptions of herself. When she got to Marquette University she joined Live Poets Society, the school’s first poetry club. It allowed her to perform her poetry in front of an audience for the first time.
“With spoken word, the audience is allowed to snap or clap,” she said about the performing experience. “That’s the part of spoken word I really like so I love when the audience does that.”
Rhines wants to continue poetry after college and she aspires to be like poets Jasmine Mans and Miles Hodges, who incorporate their poetry into inter-city youth social work.
“Do not think words are just these pointless things that flutter out of your mouth when you want something,” she said.
Screen Shot 2016-03-08 at 10.01.59 AM
Photo by Natalie Ragusin.

“Adding a funny element is something I’ve always found entertaining in art”

Bryan Audia

A fusion of pop culture, humor and loud geometric shapes are essential features in Bryan Audia’s illustrations. The student artist uses visual puns to complement rappers andbasketball players in popular media. Audia’s forte is using bright primary colors arranged in triangular figurations to convey the basis of his designs. A play on words or images is always enjoyable for him to create and connect it to prevalent celebrities. His favorite piece portrays Michael Jordan with six Ring Pops on his fingers, signifying the number of championships he won. The lurid idea adds a modern pop art touch to one of Audia’s favorite subjects.

Screen Shot 2016-03-08 at 10.02.35 AM
Photo by Dewayne Gage.

“I never really try to tell stories from other people perspectives. I just stay true to myself.”

Cameron Harris

Broadcast communication student Cameron Harris not only has a love for visuals but music as well. Fellow Windy City native Kanye West served as an inspiration to his love for rap. “He was one of the rappers making quality music when I was growing up,” says Harris. “He was putting out classics and I appreciated his work. Harris began rapping under the name “Cam Lee,” in his early adolescent years “I was in a group called the CC Boys, it was a group with my older and I,” says Harris. “I think it didn’t work out because we were an R&B group and I can’t sing.”

During the summer of his freshman year he bought a professional microphone with his babbysitting money and recorded freestlyes over instrumentals each night. He was sculpting his sound. Since then Harris released his first project “No Sugar” via SoundCloud in September 2014 with over 40 minutes worth of music. He followed that with an EP titled “I Ain’t Tripping.” Harris lyrics come from his personal experiences, and vows to stay authentic to his self. With each project the growth in his sound continues to grow, while one track can be joyous and stricly for the youth, another can be soulful. “I never really try to tell stories from other people perspectives,” says Harris. “I just stay true to myself.”

Screen Shot 2016-03-08 at 10.15.55 AM
Photo by Dewayne Gage.

It’s basically me expressing my gratitude to the culture.”

Eric Rogers

Whether it is through digital art or photography, Senior Eric Rogers is passionate about creating content. “I do Hip-Hop art because it’s a medium that I relate to,” says Rogers. “It’s basically me expressing my gratitude to the culture. Rogers was into digital design since high school. Photography came later, after a failed promise. A buddy promised him a camera that he recieved as a gift, but Rogers never git it. “He got my hopes up and never camewith the camera, so I went and took a photography class instead,” says Rogers. Now Rogers does both photography and digital art. Rogers’ digital art of some of his favorite music artists have actually ended up in their hands. At a Chance The Rapper show, Rogers gave Chance his artwork and posed with him in a photo. “It was a proud moment,” says Rogers. “But the Earl Sweatshirt art work only took me a day to make and I was satisfied with how it came out.”

Leave a Reply

